Alice in Wonderland

Hi folks!

No no, I’m not dead. Just burried. Burried under work that is. It’s been quite hectic these past few weeks, but i’ve summoned up the courage, and the time to write a new blogpost. I’ve done a ton of postprocessing lately, and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s like riding a bike. The more you do it, the better you get at it, but if you don’t do it for a while, you’ll still know how to do it later on.

I’m a big fan of training your skills. Eversince the digital awakening, in which dSLR’s became cheaper and cheaper, more and more pictures started to appear. People are getting better and better at making pictures, and that’s where you have to stand out. I’ll never forget this quote from Charles Darwin, that I read in one of my textbooks once :

“It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change.”

Charles Darwin

This is very true as well for photographers. We have to learn new skills. Some people loath the existence of photoshop,and moarn the death of analog photography but just like evolution, it’s a rite of passage, and one that is inevitable. For photographers,today, it’s just as important to know how to fix your exposure in photoshop as know how to develop film in a darkroom, 50 years ago.

Anyway, that’s it for phylosophical part of the day, onto shooting!

My latest shoot was a film-noir theme inspired shoot, with 2 models. I really wanted to catch that grungy, 60’s film noir feeling in the shoot. It turned out to be a mixture of Alice in Wonderland, if she had been a femme fatale. I’m a fan of these images, and the mood they portray.

The colors weren’t adjusted in photoshop. I placed Blue & Red colour gels on my studio strobes.

The light, coming from the lamp, is a Nikon SB-800 speedlight placed inside!

I’ve created a lighting diagram for you to study with the help Kevin Kertz’s amazing freeware.

Next, we moved onto some more fashion work.

Here we really put the focus on the model’s bracelet, which was the key thing I was going for during this shoot.

And we finished it off with a fun shot. The key idea was, ‘Hmm, my train just left but I don’t really care.’

Everything was shot with Nikon dSlr’s, Nikon & Sigma lenses, Lastolite Professional strobes, and Nikon Speedlights.

I hope you all enjoyed this, and be sure to follow me on Twitter, Facebook and to keep checking for updates!

Cheers,

Morgan

Leave a Reply

